Quarter Eagle Coins

The quarter eagle was a coin issued by the United States with a denomination of two hundred and fifty cents, or two dollars and fifty cents. It was given its name in the Coinage Act of 1792, as a derivation from the US ten-dollar eagle coin.

Designed by Robert Scot, the quarter eagle denomination was struck at the main mint at Philadelphia, and branch mints in Charlotte (1838-1859 not inclusive), New Orleans (1838-1857 only), Dahlonega (1839-1859), and in later years, San Francisco (1854-1879) and Denver (1911-1925). The first issues weighed 67.5 grains, fineness .9167, until the weight was modified to 64.5 grains and the fineness changed to .8992 by the Act of June 28, 1834. The Act of January 18, 1837 established a fineness of .900.

As relatively few coins were struck prior to 1834, any early dates are extremely rare. The first issues were struck in 1796. Any proof date prior to 1856 is rare, and will command a premium in any condition. The quarter eagle denomination was finally discontinued in 1929.

List of designs

  • Turban Head (17961807)
  • Draped Bust (1808)
  • Capped Head (18211834)
  • Classic Head (18341839)
  • Liberty Head (Coronet) (18401907)
  • Indian Head (19081915, 19251929)

Turban Head (1796-1807)

Capped Bust (1808-1834)

Classic Head (1834-1839)

Liberty Head (1840-1907)

Indian Head (1908-1929)

Images courtesy of